Vintage Shoe Jackpot

I do LOVE vintage shoes. Cute little courts with a bow on top tend to be my faves, so imagine my delight when shopping last weekend I stumbled across four (!) pairs of vintage courts – each in a different colour.

Barely worn, these shoes were like shiny new vintage, a rare kind indeed. And, all at the bargain price of £10 each, I hit the shoe jackpot. Meet my new shoes…

I unearthed these in my favourite shop in Wells, The Changing Room (I always find something cool in here). I’ve been after a tacky pair of white stilettos for a while, but hadn’t found the right ones, until now. These Carousel pumps for Freeman Hardy Willis are in white leather, with a cute gingham lining and are just the right heel height for me, so I was sold. I’ve worn them with my leopard trousers and with black opaques and a spotty frock. Their next sartorial destiny could be to pair up with my leather dress. Oh yeah!

Next up was a wander to the Trading Post (increasingly my next favourite shop, as I’m often found leaving with armfuls of booty; from butlers, to old picture albums and fur hats). Anyway, on this particular occasion I struck shoe gold, with three pairs. All in my size thanks to the Imelda Marcos of Wells donating so much of her wardrobe here, I slipped into every pair of her 5-6s, and picked my favourites.

This Royal blue pair were my first definites. I love the shiny gold bows, bright blue leather and slightly chunkier heel. As much as I love kitten heel courts, stomping around London does wear the heels down somewhat, so a sturdier heel is kinder on the purse strings. My local cobblers must bloody love me! I think I’ll wear these with the array of navy dresses I have to pep them up a little without straying too far from my blue palette.

Then, these dark navy (almost black) courts. Classic with the cute pouffy bow on the top, I envisage these beauties will be worn with everything. In perfect condition, these Bally shoes were handmade in Italy, so I was so chuffed I scored them for a tenner.

And, finally, a sad story. This, my final pair, lost its partner en route from Wells to London. And after a Wacky Races-style chase around the National Express coach depot with no lost and found success, I thought its left-foot companion was lost forever. Alas, I was wrong! It has been found in the back of Jessie’s dad’s car – hurrah! They won’t be reunited for another few weeks, so until then this one is looking a little lonely, but I love it! The jazzy red suede with classic loafer shape, gold snaffle, mini platform and chunkier heel (again), makes these soooooo wearable. I’m counting down the days for their reunion so they can GET ON MY FEET.

Part of the reason today’s post makes me happy, is that I’m having to reflect on past purchases to console myself for the lack of spending this weekend. I’m stony broke, so am shunning the Anthropologie and Selfridges 20% off events (boo). Any pennies I spend from now on, must be for xmas presents, but at least when I do go Christmas shopping I can do it in GREAT shoes.

This entry was posted in Style, Vintage. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

