London Fashion Week – A Few Shows

18th September

As I was working yesterday I missed the first day of fashion week, but today I made doubly sure I was in attendance for my front row fashion fix. Slightly hungover and still tasting tequila, I’m afraid I wasn’t taking my blogger duties seriously enough as I forgot my camera – sorry! To be honest, my photography skills are so awful it’s probably best it did stay at home.

First up was Osman. Here we saw beautiful minimalism in a block colour palette of toffee, neon pink, black, white, zingy yellow and apple green. Using soft patent leather, lightweight silk and sculpted cotton it was a stylish but understated collection. I loved the simple shift dresses with asymmetric hems, parachute backs and sculptural shapes. A stand out dress for me was a yellow pleated parachute dress with a delightful flippy short hem. I also loved a fitted white dress with structured short sleeves and full skirt. Overall, this was a grown up, classy show with lots of wearable, beautiful clothes. Minimalists and maximalists alike will find something they love here.

Next, was a speed walk up to New Oxford Street for the House of Holland show. Always a big hit with the young and trendy Shoreditch crowd, what Henry Holland lacks in design finesse he makes up for with fun attitude. It was battle of the bobs on the front row as a tiny preggers Lily Allen with a sleek 30s raven style competed with Pixie Geldoff’s messy tousled one – I preferred Lily’s. Along with Nick Grimshaw, Agyness Deyn and Jamie Winstone, the front row was as cool as you would expect. On the catwalk we saw exotic leaf prints in turquoise, green and purple on sexy dresses with fringing detail, cute retro jackets and utility shirt dresses. Models wore huge fur ball pom pom earrings which I don’t see catching on, but the metallic star appliqué pale denim was super commercial and designed with those cool cat pals of his in mind. I really liked the layered pleated dresses and cute metallic pleat skirts. The disco glitter gold dresses at the end were a bit gaudy, but overall I thought the show was sexy and fun with a touch of Versace glamour.

Last on my list was John Rocha. In a show of entirely black and cream, the monochrome collection was big on shape and texture as opposed to colour. With corsetry, cocoon shapes, origami and tulle creations, I loved the full droopy backs on dresses and big back packs. Huge puffy hair and cloud like tulle hats helped cement a dreamy collection which also included cute crochet and beautiful silk bias cut dresses. Overall, a thoroughly enjoyable and wearable collection from a London Fashion Week stalwart.

More to come tomorrow…

This entry was posted in Diary, Style. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

