Bring on the bling

27th July

There comes a time in every girl’s life where she starts to prioritise her purchases. It’s like a coming of age in the style stakes, where certain items of clothing or the types of clothing you buy take priority over others. These style transitions come in many forms, like the transition from Topshop to Whistles as the salary increases, or from crop tops to cover ups as the waistband does the same. Our style is ever evolving, and as we grow up, certain areas of our wardrobe evolve too.

I had one of these transitions recently; I am starting to really covet gorgeous jewellery. Not that I have ever not coveted it exactly – after all diamonds are a girl’s best friend – but I would always rather save my spends for shoes or bags. However, I am starting to appreciate the style miles you get out of sophisticated jewellery more and more. I am not talking about your standard bling, but really beautifully designed and masterfully crafted jewellery that can last a life time. Heirlooms in the making, if you like…

I wrote an article about the UK Jewellery Awards last week, which probably sparked this recent style revelation (http://uk.stylelist.com/2010/07/21/kings-of-bling-uk-jewellery-awards/), and have recently spent an entire afternoon in Burlington Arcade drooling over antique jewels as well. There is just one little glitch – it’s all so bloody expensive and I can’t actually afford any of it!

But a girl can dream, so in honour of my new found love for jewels, here are some gilty delights definitely worth robbing a bank for!

I love these beautiful rings by Alex Monroe whose designs are often inspired by nature. I am huge fan of vintage jewellery and I think this modern design hits the balance perfectly between old and new. Colourful and sparkly enough to stamp fashion authority but in an antique-look setting for that authentic feel.

alexmonroe rings

Twinkly temptation; 'Forest Jewel' rings by Alex Monroe, from £595, http://www.alexmonroe.com

Another designer I love is Mawi. Directional and edgy, Mawi’s designs are very popular with the fashion pack. Statement, chunky and cool, I love the signature skulls and huge knuckle duster rings. Below is a beautiful triple strand necklace with Swarovski crystal embellishment and pearls making it the perfect party piece, but also adding glamour to every day tees and shirts.

mawi necklace

Statement neckwear; Swarovski crystal and pearl necklace, £270, Mawi at http://www.net-a-porter.com

If you love vintage jewels, check out Annina Vogel who can create bespoke designs from vintage charms. I love the horseshoe styles, but other cutesy charms include hearts, stars and butterflies. This gorgeous opal and diamond ring is amazing!

avogel ring

Sweetheart; Opal and diamond ring, £2,250, http://www.anninavogel.co.uk

From the uber expensive to the uber cool, jewellery website Kabiri can deliver, in spades. I love this website, it always stocks really interesting, quirky designers alongside seriously luxe super bling. Whether you are after studs in the shape of bugs or posh sparkling chandelier drops, Kabiri has it all. I adore these 18ct yelllow gold feather drop earrings with tourmaline and white diamond detail by Mexican designer Daniela Villegas – just heavenly.

kabiri earrings

Love your lobes; 18ct yellow gold, tourmaline and white diamond feather drop earrings, £4,150, Daniela Villegas at http://www.kabiri.co.uk

In homage to this year’s UK Jewellery Awards, I couldn’t help but pick something out by the winner of Jewellery Designer of the Year; Shaun Leane. A sought-after jewellery designer indeed with very cool catwalk credentials having worked with Alexander McQueen, Marc Jacobs and Givenchy, it’s hard to pick just one thing. After appearing in Kylie’s latest video, this fierce gold plated bracelet from the Eagle Collection is definitely on the wish list.

shaunleane bracelet

Kylie approved; Shaun Leane's 'Eagle Collection' bracelet, £570, http://www.shaunleaneshop.com

Lastly, I LOVE brooches. Maybe it’s my inner-granny coming out, but I absolutely love them, have loads and wear with everything. I think you can pick up the best brooches at markets or second hand shops, but there is one style that I would definitely buy new – a Vivienne Westwood orb of course! Anyone who reads this blog knows I love Viv, so couldn’t leave her out of my bling round-up.

vivbrooch

Orbtastic; Swarovski cystal orb brooch, £110, http://www.viviennewestwoodonline.co.uk

This entry was posted in Style. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

