My birthday pick ‘n’ mix

12th July

Last weekend my friends had arranged a big birthday surprise for me. They have been plotting for weeks, and all I knew was that there were several parts to the day and that it was a real Becky pick ‘n’ mix. I was really looking forward to it, as when they surprised me last year they took me out for a lovely afternoon tea in the Rose Lounge at Sofitel St. James (www.sofitelstjames.com) – they have great taste!

This year my morning started with amazing smoked salmon and cream cheese bagels for breakfast with bucks fizz served up by a butler in the buff! Yes, that’s right a naked man serving us breakfast, and he really was gorgeous but also a good laugh (check him out as Black Velvet on Facebook). With a big group of us all together, it was such a giggle, and we even had the neighbours and my landlady up for a drink too. The day had started on a high already. What else could they have in-store that could possibly top this???

Butler in the buff

My butler in the buff

Butler in the buff 2

Some of the girls didn't know where to look!

It was a sweltering July day, and we all got dressed up in our pretty frocks late afternoon and headed to Borough Market for some tapas (a real favourite of mine), and a few refreshing drinks on the Southbank. It was the perfect day for lounging around drinking by the river.

Sunny southbank

A perfect day on the sunny Southbank

Next we made our way to E4’s Udderbelly at the Southbank Centre for the Brazil! Brazil! show. This was absolutely brilliant, with lots of Brazilian men pretty much in the buff (bit of a pervy birthday all in all) performing capoeria and samba dance moves and physical theatre that literally boggled the mind. These men are VERY fit and can do incredible things with their bodies. The girls had surpassed themselves again! It is only on until the 18th July but I would thoroughly recommend trying to get a last minute ticket (www.udderbelly.co.uk).

Brazil! Brazil!

On stage at Brazil! Brazil! The buff Brazilian was preparing for a back flip over our heads!

The final part of my big birthday surprise was heading over to The Last Days of Decadence in Shoreditch until the early hours. I have wanted to go on a retro night out for ages, and this one is based on the roaring Twenties, so was set to be glamorous, debauched and brilliant fun. We all had a fabulous time, and a few friends really got into the spirit in fringed or sequined dresses, headbands, masks and hats. I couldn’t have asked for a better end to the most brilliant day, we all absolutely loved it – boys included, who also made the effort outfit-wise. I could literally party there every weekend – check it out for an alternative night out, or just for an excuse to dress up (www.thelastdaysofdecadence.com).

Feathers and fans

Feathers and fans at The Last Days of Decadence

Polly boater

Polly works her boater hat and martini

Sara mask

Sara's feathered mask and pearls

Thanks girls, I had the best birthday – it really was the perfect Becky pick ‘n’ mix!

Pick 'n' Mix

Pick 'n' Mix!

This entry was posted in Diary. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment