Farmer wags and The Wurzels

June 5th

Although I now live in London, I grew in up in the heart of rural Somerset, so am frequently hot footing back there come sunny weekends and special occasions to see my Mum and Dad and chill out in the beautiful countryside. Luckily this weekend it was not only brilliantly hot, but there was also a Wurzels gig at our local football club. I know this may sound as though it hardly screams glamour, but think of it as a very mini Glastonbury; we had a couple of other bands, a cider tent, pig roast etc… Plus my friends and I are all country girls at heart, so were well up for a good drink and a dance in the middle of a field.

The obvious question of course, was what to wear? We didn’t want to go full-on cowgirl (too tacky), but we did want to make a bit of a country statement, so the Farmer Wags theme was devised by my friend Jessica. Obviously this left things pretty open to interpretation, but it was basically meant to be country glamour. Most of us went for some kind of wedged shoe (great for not sacrificing on height without sinking in the mud), or boots, straw hats and obviously a few check shirts were brought out for good measure. I opted for a blue gingham one, I have been lusting over cutesy gingham checks since spying those fabulous thigh-slit dresses at Christopher Kane’s spring/summer show, so was well up trying a bit myself albeit not nearly as sexy. My front knotted shirt worn over a Fifties vintage high waist skirt and leopard print wedges wasn’t really full throttle farmer wag, in fact one friend asked if I was channelling a bit of Dorothy – must have been those gingham checks! Over all though we had a great night and The Wurzels rocked. Any country girl worth her salt was there and loving it – checked shirt or not. Admittedly it wasn’t exactly the fashion extravaganza of Glasto, but not bad for a party in the football club field!

Farmer Wags

Amber and Bridget go for country khakis

 

Farmer Wags

Jessica and I work the check shirt look

This entry was posted in Diary, Style. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

